Florida Wins College World Series Behind Strong Pitching

College World Series Championship Game 2

Florida 6, LSU 1 (Florida wins series 2-0)

WP: Tyler Dyson (4-0)  LP: Jared Poche (12-4) S: Jackson Kowar (1)  

The Florida Gators won the 2017 NCAA College World Series behind a stellar pitching performance from RHP Tyler Dyson and clutch pitching out of their bullpen, defeating LSU 6-1.

Florida grabbed the early lead in the bottom of the first, as first baseman JJ Schwarz drove in second baseman Deacon Liput with an RBI single, but LSU LHP Jared Poche limited the damage to one run, as Florida took the 1-0 lead after the first inning. Florida added to their lead in the second inning, as Liput drove home center fielder Nick Horvath with an RBI single of his own, extending the Gator lead to 2-0.

From there, Dyson threw five more scoreless innings in only his second start of the season, before being lifted in the seventh inning in favor of RHP Michael Byrne. Byrne inherited one runner for LSU, who came in to score on an RBI double by third baseman Josh Smith. On a ground-ball double play hit by catcher Michaek Papierski, the tying run appeared to score, however baserunner Jake Slaughter was called for baserunner interference, and Smith had to return to third base, now with two outs in the inning. Byrne was able to retire designated hitter Beau Jordan on a lineout, ending the threat for LSU, and holding the Florida lead, 2-1.

LSU threatened in the eighth inning, with shortstop Kramer Robertson and second baseman Cole Freeman both reaching before Byrne struck out left fielder Antoine Duplantis. Florida opted to turn the ball over to RHP Jackson Kowar with one out in the eighth and right fielder Greg Deichmann hit into a fielders choice, with Robertson being thrown out at home plate. A flyout by Smith retired the side for LSU, with Florida still leading 2-1.

Florida pulled away in the bottom of the eighth inning, loading the bases with one out in the inning. Hess hit Horvath with a pitch to drive home one insurance run and Liput followed with a 2-run single to extend the lead to 5-1. Florida would add one more on a sacrifice fly, taking a 6-1 lead into the ninth inning. Kowar returned to the mound for Florida, and save for one base-runner, retired the Tigers claiming the first ever NCAA baseball championship in school history.

Comments are closed.